Published: Fri, January 19, 2018
Sport | By Wendy Sparks

Virat Kohli named ICC cricketer, ODI cricketer of the year

Virat Kohli named ICC cricketer, ODI cricketer of the year

He was also named the captain of both Test and ODI teams of the year.

The awards were given away on the basis of the achievements of the players during the period between 21 September 2016, and 31 December 2017.

Three White Ferns were recognised in the ICC's women's awards, which were announced at the end of past year.

Recognizing the same, the ICC has conferred Virat Kohli with the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for cricketer of the year.

Nintendo Labo Pre-orders Available On Amazon
Nintendo's reputation for unpredictability ensured a surprise, and yet the logic of Nintendo Labo does seem obvious in retrospect. The engineering breakdown that Labo has shows how the kits work, allowing the mechanics to work with other personal projects.

The ODI Cricketer of the Year award was given to a non-South African for the first time since 2013, with Quinton de Kock receiving the honour in 2016 and AB de Villiers winning it in 2014 and 2015.

According to ICC, his superlative performances have caught the attention of T20 teams around the world and he has made a splash at the Indian Premier League and Big Bash League in Australia.

"Two Indians getting back-to-back makes it more special". Kohli remains the number one ICC ODI batsman after his heroics with the willow past year. I am really honoured and want to thank the ICC for recognising the hardwork that we all put in for our respective sides. "Twenty-sixteen for me I think was a breakthrough year and I was able to continue in 2017 also", he said.

Australian captain Steve Smith, who won the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award, continues to sit at top with 947 points. "I am incredibly humbled and I love playing Test cricket - it's the game that challenges your skills and your mind the most".

Las Vegas No Longer In The Running For Amazon HQ2
Some pulled off stunts to stand out, such as NY , which lit the Empire State Building in Amazon orange. It also offered to partner with local universities for a new program tailored for Amazon's workforce.

2017 is the first year that Kohli has been selected in the Test Team of the Year. Its called Test cricket for a reason, and Ive enjoyed that test of my ability over the past 12 months, ” Smith said.

Yazuvendra Chahal took the honours of being the man behind the performance of the year 2017. His 6/25 against England in Bengaluru got him the trophy.

The Delhi dasher was also adjudged the ODI Cricketer of the year for 2017. He used it to devastating effect against West Indies last June, ripping through the hosts to claim a haul of 7/18 at St Lucia - the fourth-best figures in the history of ODI cricket, according to ICC.

Pakistan winning the Champions Trophy last year was picked as the Fans' moment of the year by ICC. At the time he was only 17 years old. Virat had previously won the honor of the Cricketer of the year in 2012, when he was just 24 years old. He also scalped 3 wickets in five back-to-back ODIs for his country. Cheteshwar Pujara, one of the best performers of 2017, slipped to the sixth spot while KL Rahul fell from 12th to 18th position.

Pique extends contract with Barcelona until 2022
Following the recent loss of Brazilian Superstar, Neymar, Barcelona has revived activities by extending Gerard Pique Contract to June 30, 2022.

Like this: