Published: Sun, November 19, 2017
Global News | By Stacy Ballard

Gujarat elections: 49 sitting MLAs get ticket in BJP's first list

Gujarat elections: 49 sitting MLAs get ticket in BJP's first list

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) on Saturday said it will contest the assembly elections in Gujarat next month in alliance with the Congress to oust the 22-year-old BJP regime in the state. In the second list, the BJP has fielded 13 tribal and two Dalit candidates. The party has instead fielded his wife, Geetaba Jadeja, from Gondal, a Patidar-dominated seat in Rajkot district.

"The party has repeated most of the sitting MLAs, but has also given a chance to 15 new faces". Nine sitting MLAs have been denied ticket this time.

Rahul Gandhi Gujarat
Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi speaking at a public meeting in GujaratTwitter

The party gave tickets to 49 sitting MLAs, including 16 ministers.

To voice their dissent, several supporters of IK Jadeja, a senior party leader and party spokesperson with a strong presence in Wadhwan and Dhrangadhra constituencies in Saurashtra, gathered at the BJP headquarters, "Shree Kamalam" in Gandhinagar.

Serena Williams & Alexis Ohanian Tied the Knot & Beyoncé Attended!
Finally! Tennis major Serena Williams married the longtime fiance Alexis Ohanian on Thursday in presence of friends and family. Alexis and Serena announced their engagement in December of last year after dating for almost a year and a half.

From Saurashtra-Kutch region, four sitting MLAs have been denied tickets, including Jairajsinh Jadeja, who wields vast clout in Gondal.The BJP overlooked Ramesh Maheshwari, Bavanji Metaliya, Meghji Chavda and Pravin Makadiya, sitting MLAs, respectively from Gandhidham seat (Kutch district), Tankara (Morbi), Kalavad (Jamnagar) and Dhoraji (Rajkot). However, the party has opted to not experiment, as it knows that the risk with a known candidates is less than with a new one. The counting of votes will be taken up on December 18. "Out of these, 60 candidates are for the first phase of polls to be held on December 9, while the remaining are of the second phase to be held on December 14".

The BJP has also fielded five former Congress leaders, who had joined the saffron fold recently. Many of these leaders have threatened to field independent candidates against the official BJP candidates in the Assembly elections.

David Goffin stuns Roger Federer for career-best result — ATP Finals
And on the final, he added: "It's another match tomorrow and it's the last match of the season - it's on". It could be the expectations for him, as well.

With this, the BJP has declared contestants for 106 out of total 182 seats.

Aerial view reveals wreckage from Buckinghamshire air collision
Staff from the country estate helped direct emergency vehicles and a huge cordon has been put in place. Investigations at the scene are expected to continue through the weekend and into Monday morning.

Like this: