Published: Wed, September 13, 2017
Sport | By Wendy Sparks

Nine former Broncos among Pro Football Hall of Fame's 2018 class nominees

Nine former Broncos among Pro Football Hall of Fame's 2018 class nominees

Lower Richland graduate Richard Seymour is one of 108 players and coaches who are modern era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Steve Smith Sr., who Carolina Panthers fans and Baltimore Ravens fans alike have cherished throughout his 16-year, 1,000-catch and almost 15,000-yard career with both teams, is not actually eligible since he just retired last year (he's now an NFL Network analyst).

Cowher coached the Steelers for 15 seasons winning one Super Bowl and building the team that won another just after he retired.

Atwater played 11 seasons in the National Football League (10 with the Broncos), earning Pro Bowl honors eight times. The list of modern-era nominees will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and, subsequently, to 15 finalists in January.

WhatsApp co-founder Brian Acton announces resignation, will start a non-profit
After working at Yahoo, Acton was ironically rejected by Facebook in 2009 when he went for an interview. Brian Acton , one of the co-founders of WhatsApp is leaving the messaging service company.

This nominee list does also go through a screening process, but the rules state that it includes any first-time eligible candidates who have "strong enough credentials to give them even a remote chance of eventual Hall of Fame election", and "all other eligible candidates nominated by any person". Another nominee, defensive end Simeon Rice spent one season with the Colts.

He had a combined eight sacks in his final two seasons with the Colts, playing in all 32 games with 31 starts over that span. The finalists will consist of 15 modern-era finalists, the recently named Senior Finalists, Robert Brazile and Jerry Kramer, and the 2018 Contributor Finalist, Bobby Beathard.

Eighteen finalists will be presented to the full 48-member Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee during its annual selection meeting on "Selection Saturday", the day before Super Bowl LII.

The Selection Committee will meet on Saturday, Feb. 3, 2018 in Minneapolis, elect the Class of 2018.

Menopausal hormone therapy not associated with mortality or deaths from CVD
Manson said. "It's reasonable to consider that better treatments have improved the outlook for these illnesses", he said. More research is necessary on the long-term benefits and risks of newer hormone therapies, the researchers say.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2018 will be formally enshrined next August in Canton.

Running backs: Tiki Barber, Earnest Byner, Roger Craig, Corey Dillon, Eddie George, Edgerrin James, Lorenzo Neal, Fred Taylor, Herschel Walker (also KR), Ricky Watters.

Defensive backs: CB Eric Allen, S Steve Atwater, CB/S Ronde Barber, S LeRoy Butler, S Brian Dawkins, S Rodney Harrison, CB Ty Law, CB Albert Lewis, S John Lynch, S Dennis Smith, CB Everson Walls, S Darren Woodson.

Kickers/punter: Gary Anderson (K), Sean Landeta (P), Nick Lowery (K).

Dollar stabilises after selloff; focus on North Korea, Hurricane Irma
In Europe, Germany's DAX was up 0.6 percent at 12,550 while the CAC 40 in France was 0.7 percent higher at 5,213. The dollar also rose against the Chinese yuan, which pulled away from a 21-month high set on Friday.

Like this: